Skip to main content
Series News

Hot Lap With #407 J2 Kart Cade Martin

Thursday, September 19, 2019

-Tell us about your racing background and how you ended up at the Lucas Oil Regional Series:

I have been around racing since I was born. I grew up going to the desert and watching my dad and uncle race off-road. I first raced BMX when I was 3 and raced for about 5 years. Then in 2018 I started racing JR2 at Lucas Oil Regionals. This is my second full season in regionals and my first year in nationals. Also this year my brother Brodie started racing a JR1.

-Family seems to play a big role on most regional teams and we see your family at the track with you at every round. How important is your family to your success and what roles do each of them play on race weekends?

My family plays an important role to my success. My dad preps the car at home for each race. At the races he works on the car with the help of our friends Zach and Kira, and he spots for me. My Grandpa sponsors me and pays all my entry fees and my Uncle wraps my body and does all the stickers. My mom is always making sure I'm fed and taken care of, and my little sister comes out to support and cheer me and my brother on. We also have a lot of friends and family that come cheer me on too.

-What is your advice to someone looking to start out in short course off road racing?

My advice for someone looking to race short course would be to get a used competitive car and practice at the tracks they would be racing on and get as much seat time as possible. Start with racing the Regionals and then go to Nationals.

-What is your favorite track and why?

Reno and Glen Helen are my two favorite tracks. I only raced Reno once but is a fun track because it has an elevation change and has a bunch of 180 turns. Glen Helen is fun because the last few times I have raced there, there has been new tracks that are different and fun.

-When you're not at the track, what can we find you doing?

When I'm not at the track you can find me doing flips on my trampoline, riding my bike with my friends, fishing, working on my RC cars and hanging out with my friends and family.

-How much time/work goes into preparing for each race weekend?

A lot of time goes into each race weekend. It starts when we get home from the previous race. We unload the trailer and wash the car before putting it in the garage. Then my dad and I prep the car. This can take 10 to 20 hours and sometimes up to 40 hours plus depending on how the last race went. As the race gets closer my Mom and Dad load the motorhome and trailer with all the things we need for a long weekend. Our friend Zach who helps at all the races also helps us in getting the trailer ready.

-What/who is your biggest challenge on the track?

My biggest challenge at the track is staying smooth and consistent with my lap times. There are also a lot of competitive drivers in JR2.

-Any goals for the next few years or beyond?

My goal right now is to win the JR2 championship. Next year I will be racing a mod kart and my goal in that class is to do my best and try to win races and eventually win a championship in mod.

-We know it takes a lot of support to race and you seem to be backed by some great companies. Is there anyone you would like to thank for their support?

I would like to thank my Mom and Dad for making this possible for me to do. I would also like to thank my Grandpa for sponsoring me and paying for my entries. My Uncle from Sunset Sign Designs for wrapping my bodies, Bnd performance, Pci race radios, Ultra Wheels and all my family and friends that support me in doing what I love.